DIY Lazy Kate and Lazy Spinner

July 7, 2013 at 4:09 pm 3 comments

I don’t want to admit to how many years it’s taken me to complete two of these skeins of yarn.

Image

Suffice it to say there was a long intermission, with not enough popcorn and soda, in the middle. It all started with some very dirty Shetland wool that came from a sheep named Cocoa. My sister had lucked into several Shetland fleeces for $5 each, right off the sheep, and she split them with me. Note: $5 per fleece, not $5 per pound. Hard to resist, right?

Image

Mmmm, crimpy goodness!

Now, fast forward through the washing and the hours (and hours and hours) of picking out vegetable matter. There was a reason the price was $5 per fleece. These Shetlands were more or less pets who must have had their hay dumped onto them, not next to them. Anyway, I chose out the best bits of wool, picked, carded and spun—again, over the course of years—two ultra-full bobbins.

Image

The goal: 2-ply natural brown yarn. Only problem was that I still hadn’t found a real lazy kate within my budget. And despite finding several really good plans for building a kate, nothing had materialized. Apparently it takes more than just finding the plans to make it happen. Who knew?

So, I channeled all my pinch-penny, make-do German ancestors and devised my own lazy kate in 10 minutes. For free. Voila:

Image

Cardboard box? Check.
Two size 8 steel knitting needles? Check.
Tensioning device? No, but I could have tipped the box a wee bit to add a little tension. I could have also added a piece of string connecting the two bobbins with a loop to add tension. As it was, my singles were pretty thin and I wanted to avoid breakage.

It’s not lovely. But it also wasn’t $50-$80 and it got the job done fantastically. Plus it’s 100% recyclable and reusable. She’s not lazy kate, she’s environmental activist kate.

In fact, kate has issued a challenge to me: finish the next skein of yarn in less than 3 years. Like, before she falls apart.

• tess •

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Colorwork Sock Chugging Along Odorific Alpaca

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. roguecrafter  |  July 10, 2013 at 7:15 am

    That is brilliant. I ply on a drop spindle and it’s kind of an Experience, compounded partly by the fact that I always get a bruise/blister/callous something on the hand I ply with. IDEK. Maybe not having balls of yarn whizzing past me would help! Lazy Kate: on the to-do list.

    And The yarn is lovely. I bet it’s super soft, too!

    Reply
    • 2. roguecrafter  |  July 10, 2013 at 7:16 am

      Of course, that’s also why I tend to spin rather thick singles and just leave them as singles ;)

    • 3. tess  |  July 10, 2013 at 8:41 am

      Yes, the yarn is soft and yummy. :-) Are you doing a Navaho (chain) ply? I just tried that for the first time last week. Ugh, the eye-hand-treadle coordination almost did me in!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tess Tweets

Categories

Shameless Self-promotion

Fun things for fiber lovers at www.coldhandswarmart2.etsy.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 244 other followers

Bookmark and Share
The Hunger Site

