Let’s Make a Deal

June 5, 2013 at 4:29 pm 4 comments

Of all the wisdom imparted to me by my mom, there was one thing I think she missed–or I might not have been listening. Here it is:

Life is All About Trade-offs

(To be honest, Mom did say “No one said life was going to be fair” and that’s certainly a corollary!)

Think about the things we trade off every day:

  • Fashion vs. comfort
  • Time working vs. time with family
  • Time with family vs. me time
  • Doughnut vs. swimsuit

Recently the fam sat down and made a list of needful and wantful expenses for the summer. Sadly the needful side of the list was really long. And then, last Friday, we had to add one more item when my exhaust system sprang a leak. Clarification: my CAR’s exhaust system sprang a leak. If you’ve suffered through this, you know the symptom. A previously quiet car suddenly sounds like it has several Harley engines propelling it down the street.

It’s not dangerous, it’s just embarrassing to me. But not for my daughter, who giggles every time I accelerate from a stop.

But it really got me thinking about trade-offs. What am I willing to forgo to stop sounding like the hot rod from hell? Would I give up a home improvement project? A summer trip? Buying yarn?

Here’s a hint: You’ll hear me coming from blocks away, and you’ll know me by the yarn trailing out the car windows.

• tess •

Yarn Hot Rod

Entry filed under: Asides, Family. Tags: , .

Rip-it! Rip-it! 2,045 Yards of Super Fine

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. roguecrafter  |  June 12, 2013 at 3:17 pm

    I definitely agree about the importance of yarn! I think for me it’s also about being true to my own heart vs. societal expectations of, say, what a car should be like. :)

    Reply
    • 2. tess  |  June 12, 2013 at 3:23 pm

      Perhaps I need to try out some yarn bombing on my car. :-)

    • 3. roguecrafter  |  June 12, 2013 at 3:28 pm

      That would be awesome. I have yarn bombed parts of my walker and it distracts from annoying questions like “why are you using a walker anyway?”

    • 4. tess  |  June 12, 2013 at 3:35 pm

      LOL–I love that!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tess Tweets

Categories

Shameless Self-promotion

Fun things for fiber lovers at www.coldhandswarmart2.etsy.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 244 other followers

Bookmark and Share
The Hunger Site

