Rip-it! Rip-it!

May 30, 2013 at 8:20 pm 2 comments

Spring is the time when the frogs return and I’m suffering from a plague. Not of frogs, but of frogging.

Inspired by one of my knitting/blogging heroes, Mary Scott Huff, I am learning stranded colorwork. I am also learning toe-up sock knitting. Both at the same time. Considering that any new technique will inevitably require at least two tries, plus an extra try to get the size/gauge right, I think I am now at my limit for starting over. Yup. Nothing but smooth sailing for this sock!

Of course, some of the frogging is due to my inability to just follow a pattern as written (this applies to recipes as well). The pattern is for a Bosnian slipper sock, and it is part of a Craftsy class called Knit Sock Workshop. The colorwork pattern provided for the sock is a simple geometric stripe/diamond design–perfect for beginners. But, of course, why should I put all that time into a geometric design when I don’t really like it? I much prefer curves and organic shapes.

So, I scoured Pinterest and started collecting charted designs. And then I had to take it a step further and mash ideas together using Excel spreadsheets to chart variation upon variation. And I finally designed a very nice swirl, took up my size 3 DPNs and blasted through the first 4 rounds of the body (the basic toe with increases was already done in a solid color).

Now, the beauty of the toe-up sock is that you can actually stick your toe into it as you progress to check the size. With each round I knitted onto the body of the sock, I felt more apprehensive about the size. So, I did it. I spread out the stitches on the needles and slipped my bare toes into the end.

Not big. HUGE.

So, frogging I will go. I may have to drop down a needle size (yikes! size 2 toothpicks!) and I am also switching to a more simple charted design, one that will be easier to alter to the new dimensions. I’m calling it “noodles.” I hope frogs don’t like noodles.

Old and new design charts

Just before frogging. Old design chart in blue and white. New noodles chart in green and white.

Entry filed under: Knitting, Spinning & Fibery Fun, Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Rhubarb aka Pie Plant Let’s Make a Deal

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom  |  May 30, 2013 at 9:21 pm

    This is so far beyond my skills/knowledge/experience, I can’t even relate to it……except maybe because my feet are larger than yours, you could just keep going and see how it turns out for a Christmas gift! ;-)

    Reply
  • 2. tanglethorne  |  May 31, 2013 at 8:38 am

    Sorry, the frog has already visited! The new design is looking pretty good so far!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tess Tweets

Categories

Shameless Self-promotion

Fun things for fiber lovers at www.coldhandswarmart2.etsy.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 244 other followers

Bookmark and Share
The Hunger Site

