Tale of the Fuzzy Lime Poncho

August 8, 2011 at 9:40 am 1 comment

In the beginning, there was the yarn. Clearance priced, bright green and fuzzy. And upon huge bamboo needles, I created an expansive rectangle with several dropped stitches and a bind-off just a wee bit tighter than optimal. (It was the beginning, after all.)

The expansive rectangle became the first item of clothing made by me upon knitting needles, thanks to a free Lion-brand yarn pattern.

Eventually, I fixed theholes left from the dropped stitches. Well, not exactly fixed. More like camouflaged. But I was never quite happy with the length. Should have made the expansive rectangle even more expansive.

So, I recently said to myself, “Self, it’s time to fish or cut bait on this poncho. Fix it or Goodwill it.” I put it on for one last time and melted once more into its unbearably fuzzy warmth. (No, literally, I melted. It is summer, after all.) And I concluded that it was worth saving.

Out came the leftover green yarn and leftover complimentary lavender. Out came the crochet hooks. Round and round I circled the bottom edge, making it up as I went, while the yarn added a couple of inches to the overall length.

So, here it is, being modeled by my front steps. On a scale of 1 – 10 where 1 = Frankenponcho and 10 = Work of Art, what do you think?

• tess •

Entry filed under: Knitting, Spinning & Fibery Fun, Uncategorized. Tags: .

Blog, Interrupted Blackberry Lilies

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Mom  |  August 8, 2011 at 3:51 pm

    I give it an 8……like the colors, but I’m not a poncho fan for me, so my opinion is suspect.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tess Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Categories

Shameless Self-promotion

Fun things for fiber lovers at www.coldhandswarmart2.etsy.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 244 other followers

Bookmark and Share
The Hunger Site

