1 year out from corporate mordor

December 31, 2010 at 10:10 am 2 comments

This blog post from one of my favoritest bloggers, Mary Scott Huff, reminded me that January first marks a one-year anniversary for me. Is is now one year since I jumped from the relative security of a full-time, corporate, middle-management j.o.b. for this life of carefree (hahaha) pursuit of the freelance, homespun life.

How has it been? Careening on the edge, for the most part, with a grand flourishing finale.

How has it felt? Absolutely awesome, with a side of scary, and a deep, satisfying finish.

From Thanksgiving to Christmas I was able to put about 150 Hunger Games-related presents under trees all over the country, thanks to my Etsy shop. I have landed some wonderful new freelance clients. I have made awesome new acquaintances and friends through Ravelry, Etsy, Twitter, and Facebook…some of you even read my humble blog–THANK YOU!!! And, perhaps most importantly, we still own a house, both old jalopies, and are still able to put kibble in the bowls of the kitties and woof. No one had to be sold to the glue factory to pay the electric bill.

It’s not quite what I pictured. I am spending many more hours making PowerPoints than spinning wool and clicking needles. But, the effects of the long, long journey through Mordor are beginning to disappear. The eye is fading. The shire smells sweet again.

Happy New Year to us all.

• tess •

Entry filed under: Asides. Tags: , , , .

Finally Fall Foods 2010 in review

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Laura Collins  |  December 31, 2010 at 12:12 pm

    Oh, Tess, we could talk about so much. It’s been several more years since I hopped off my particular career path and I’m still finding all those emotions you mentioned, plus, with no supporting spouse in the picture, true quandries about the glue factory. Nonetheless, I’m starting 2011 more energized than I’ve been in ages. Hallelujah.

    Reply
    • 2. homespunlife  |  December 31, 2010 at 12:22 pm

      Energized is good! And online friends are even better! Let’s keep the connection going in 2011. :-)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tess Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Categories

Shameless Self-promotion

Fun things for fiber lovers at www.coldhandswarmart2.etsy.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 244 other followers

Bookmark and Share
The Hunger Site

