Yarn Bowls

July 20, 2010 at 5:18 pm 7 comments

IF i love yarn AND i love handmade pottery, THEN i love, love yarn bowls. And i do.

I also love soup. Which goes in bowls, preferably of the hand thrown pottery variety. But this post is not about soup. We’ll get to that next winter. Cross my heart.

I could describe a yarn bowl in words, but it’s better just to show you and let you have the pleasure of going, “Ah-ha!”

Julie Knowles Pottery

Dorothy Domingo

Common Stone Pottery

Center Hill Clay Works

Yes, gentle readers, if you’ve ever yanked a ball of yarn and then chased it under a sofa (or chased the cat who chased it under the sofa) you will understand the function of a yarn bowl.

Sure, I can make a frugal yarn holder from an empty coffee can with a hole cut in the lid, but aren’t these beauty-ous?  These are just four of the many others I found on Etsy. If anyone is looking for a birthday/Christmas/Etsyversary/just-because gift for me…need I say more? I probably needn’t, but I will mention that Common Stone has the CUTEST little paw print pendant. ;-)

• tess •

Entry filed under: Etsy Finds. Tags: , .

Chocolate Dogs and Cakes How High’s the Water, Mama?

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy  |  July 23, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    I have never heard of yarn bowls, but I certainly like what I see! Definitely more attractive than a milk jug or coffee can. :-) I just might have to look into getting one of those.

    Reply
    • 2. homespunlife  |  July 23, 2010 at 4:44 pm

      Oh right…milk jugs! I forgot about that frugal idea. :-)

  • 3. Stella  |  July 29, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    Oh Tess,
    The bowls are just lovely….I want some too!!!!! Put me on your Christmas List please.
    Stella

    Reply
    • 4. homespunlife  |  July 29, 2010 at 7:46 pm

      I’ve decided my bowl will need a lid…to keep out the cat hair. :-\

  • 5. Donna aka OldTownTreadles on Ravelry  |  August 18, 2010 at 6:36 pm

    It occurred to me that you might get clear glass inserts for your yarn bowls, preferably that sort of glass that withstands heat, and use them to house the soup, and the bowls to house the glass inserts. That way you can peek at carrots and shrimp and other good things in the soup through some of the slits in your yarn bowls. It’s always nice to have a second way of finding pleasure from the same thing, don’t you think?

    Reply
    • 6. homespunlife  |  August 18, 2010 at 10:41 pm

      heeheehee! I’m game for anything that lets me eat more soup, Donna!

  • 7. 2010 in review « The Homespun Life  |  January 2, 2011 at 11:01 am

    […] Yarn Bowls July 2010 6 comments […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tess Tweets

Categories

Shameless Self-promotion

Fun things for fiber lovers at www.coldhandswarmart2.etsy.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 244 other followers

Bookmark and Share
The Hunger Site

