Chocolate Dogs and Cakes

July 19, 2010 at 11:54 am 5 comments

I could write about chocolate every day. But this week I’m limiting myself to one post on chocolate.

Chocolate Topic #1

We have a new dog! When you see her picture, I hope you get the reference to chocolate.

This is Dharma, adopted from our local humane society. She is a two year old, 39 pound Chocolate Lab mix. Still not sure what the mix is. We are her third family and can’t help but wonder if she was harshly treated because she has taken awhile to stop flinching when someone makes a sudden move toward her.

Dharma is sweet and goofy like most Labs, but not hyper and destructive like Marley.

I can absolutely verify that she does not smell like chocolate.

I’ll admit I had been hoping that our next dog would have spin-able fur. Unfortunately, there will be no Dharma yarn forthcoming. But I do love having a dog with fur that doesn’t tangle.

Ahh…felt-free dog.

Chocolate Topic #2

Here’s your reward for hanging with me through the dog fur and dog smell discussion. Real chocolate.

If you are a WordPress user, you might have seen this featured on the front page. I can’t believe I’ve never seen this idea before–single serving chocolate cake microwaved in a mug. I lifted this recipe from ovenhaven’s blog and can’t wait to try it, though I’ll probably put my cinnamon in my coffee instead of in my cake.

Five-Minute Chocolate Mug Cake
(adapted from here)

50g dark chocolate
3 tablespoons butter
4 tablespoons plain flour
1 tsp ground cinnamon
3 tablespoons sugar
1 egg
3 tablespoons milk

  1. Melt the butter and chocolate in a double boiler. Set aside to cool.
  2. Add flour, ground cinnamon and sugar to a small mixing bowl, and mix well. Add the egg and mix thoroughly. Pour in the milk and mix well. Add the melted chocolate and mix again.
  3. Pour the mixture into a large microwavable coffee mug. Microwave for 2 minutes on medium, 1 minute on high. It should be cooked (skewer test comes out with moist crumbs), but still a lil moist. Remember, it will continue to cook while standing.
  4. Allow to cool a little, give yourself a pat on the back, and indulge!

It’s good I have the dog to help me walk off this recipe, since I can see this becoming a summer dessert fav.

• t •

Entry filed under: Pets, Recipes. Tags: , , , , .

Depression Era Precociousness Yarn Bowls

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Geni  |  July 19, 2010 at 12:02 pm

    Love the chocolate dog and the chocolate recipe. I have a beautiful Golden we got from our local shelter as well. She is a dol and one of the loves of my lifel. Stick with your lab…it will take her a little while to settle down, but she’ll learn she can trust her new family. It took ours about a year. I keep meaning to put her cute mug on my blog. I have a new baking blog and love meeting new visitors.

    Reply
    • 2. homespunlife  |  July 19, 2010 at 1:59 pm

      Geni, I am currently drooling over your pineapple pancakes and tirimisu (sp?). That’s as far as I’ve gotten so far. Yes, my oven and stove are also on strike. Just…too…hot…

      You should check out Tes’ blog too. Her comment is below.

  • 3. Tes  |  July 19, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    This quick mug cake recipe sounds very interesting. I think my family will love this.
    Thanks for sharing,
    Tes

    Reply
    • 4. homespunlife  |  July 19, 2010 at 2:00 pm

      Thanks, Tes! I changed my bookmark to your new site.

  • 5. 2010 in review « The Homespun Life  |  January 2, 2011 at 11:01 am

    […] The busiest day of the year was July 20th with 35 views. The most popular post that day was Chocolate Dogs and Cakes. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tess Tweets

Categories

Shameless Self-promotion

Fun things for fiber lovers at www.coldhandswarmart2.etsy.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 244 other followers

Bookmark and Share
The Hunger Site

