While You Were Out…

June 30, 2010 at 4:39 pm 4 comments

…I sneaked in some dying. :-)

The remainder of No Name, the mystery Shetland went gold and raspberry, got carded together and spun up into this yummy, summery color I call “bowl of fresh peaches”:

And then it went on Etsy and sold. Just like that. How cool!

Here are some pics from the dying process.


The dyes used were Waratah and Broome from the Australia Landscapes brand, ordered in small sample bags from Wind Rose on Etsy. I really loved working with the Landscapes dyes. They are simple to use and Wind Rose’s sampler bags makes it easy to try out different colors.

With No Name pretty much used up, I’ve moved on to my next dirty Shetland half-fleece, Angel. You’d think with a name like Angel, she’d be pure white, right? Wrong. Apparently this ovine is a fallen angel. Her fleece is white, all shades a gray, and a touch of rust. Here’s how she looks spun up in a two-ply.

I’m thinking of giving this a dip in some pink or maroon dye, what do you think?

The PVC niddy-noddy in the pic came from another Etsy seller, Whispering Acres. I love my fellow Etsians, and I LOVE my niddy-noddy. It came with 3 sizes of center bar so I can make 1, 1.5 or 2 yard skeins. Plus it comes apart for storage.

I swear, none of these Etsy sellers asked me to advertise for them!

• t •

Entry filed under: Dye, Sheep to Yarn Process. Tags: , .

Socks Do Not Knit Themselves Depression Era Precociousness

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom  |  June 30, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    I knew that peaches color would sell…..it was yummy. I suggest you try pink on Angel’s fleece first. If you want more color, you can always go to the maroon, right?

    Reply
  • 2. Jenn  |  July 3, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    The colors turned out so pretty. I’m tickled to be mentioned and congrats on the sale!

    Reply
  • 3. Tes  |  July 5, 2010 at 12:03 pm

    It looks so beautiful! The color is so gorgeous!

    Reply
  • 4. Claire  |  July 5, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    Hiya! Thanks for mentioning the niddy noddy! I’m so glad you like it. I love the small one for using in the sink to set my twist. I just love your yarns too. What a great name for the “bowl of peaches” one! Soon I’m hoping to add wraps-per-inch gauges to the shop, made from different woods. Happy spinning!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tess Tweets

Categories

Shameless Self-promotion

Fun things for fiber lovers at www.coldhandswarmart2.etsy.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 244 other followers

Bookmark and Share
The Hunger Site

