Socks Do Not Knit Themselves

June 23, 2010 at 9:09 pm 4 comments

My first knitting self-challenge for this year? Socks.

Score thus far? Socks – 0, Attempts – 2

(Please pretend you didn’t notice that it’s June already and I’m just getting to my first 2010 knitting challenge.)

I’ve got the yarn. I’ve got the double-pointed needles. But I can’t seem to get my swatches to match my pattern gauges. I’ve been changing needles and changing patterns. Heck, I even tried changing yarn. When I finally did get the gauge to match, I did the cast-on, divided the stitches onto multiple needles and attempted to join the last stitch to the first. By that time I had needles dangling in odd directions, huge spans of yarn stretched between needles, and–to top it all off–I’d lost track of what was happening on T.V.

So, why knit socks when I can buy a pair for $1.25 at the dollar store? (Yes, I know. Everything at the “dollar” store costs $1.25.) It’s just a knitty thing, I guess. Like, you can’t call yourself a baker if you’ve never made a cake from scratch, and you can’t call yourself a knitter if you’ve never knit socks.

I have a new plan, though.

Silver’s Online Sock Class is going to lead me through my socks, step-by-step, with LOTS of pictures. Sock it to me, Silver.

Entry filed under: Knitting, Spinning & Fibery Fun. Tags: .

Rhubarb–How I Love Thee While You Were Out…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom  |  June 24, 2010 at 7:26 am

    Maybe one sock by the time the snow flies?? ;-)

    Reply
  • 2. homespunlife  |  June 24, 2010 at 8:52 am

    Brrrrr. I’d rather have 2 socks by snow time. Right now I should be knitting a bikini.

    Reply
  • 3. heatherlyb  |  July 5, 2010 at 10:44 pm

    Socks…im stumped by sock knitting too. I’m at attempt 50 bazillion with no successful socks…yet!

    I’m going to check out that link and hope for the best! :)

    Reply
    • 4. homespunlife  |  July 6, 2010 at 7:24 am

      True confession time, heatherly…since my sock failures I’ve been finding tons of things to do with my fiber time besides starting the socks. My double-pointed needles mock me from from their project bag. :-(

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tess Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Categories

Shameless Self-promotion

Fun things for fiber lovers at www.coldhandswarmart2.etsy.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 244 other followers

Bookmark and Share
The Hunger Site

