Rhubarb–How I Love Thee

June 12, 2010 at 5:40 pm 6 comments

Oh frabjous day! It’s rhubarb cobbler time!

When we bought our house, it came with a single rhubarb plant in the backyard. That was the deal-clincher, I think.  Shortly after moving in, I planted two more rhubarb plants. Just enough to keep one family in rhubarb cobblers during spring and fall.

My love affair with rhubarb began as a child visiting the farms of aunts and uncles in Northern Iowa, where rhubarb doesn’t just grow, it conquers and dominates. Resistance is futile. So, no one really cares if children break off a stalk and munch on the crispy veggie, pulling it apart fiber by fiber, like so much string cheese, puckering at its crunchy tanginess.

In Missouri, where I grew up, rhubarb lives a less abundant and more precarious life in the clay soil and southern heat.

But now my yard is in the northern land. The land of ice and snow. And rhubarb.

Here’s my very favorite-est recipe, handed down from my Iowa aunt and godmother, Joan W.

Rhubarb Cobbler
Grease a deep casserole dish. (Mine is like a 9″x9″ but with high sides.)

Finely chop enough rhubarb to make 4 cups and set aside. (NOTE ADDED 6/13/10: If you’re short on rhubarb, or want a less tangy taste, try substituting chopped, fresh apple. It works great!)

Then combine into a batter (I do this right in my greased casserole):
1 c flour
2 t baking power
dash of salt
1/2 t nutmeg
1/2 c sugar
2 T oil (I use canola)
3/4 c milk
1 t vanilla (optional)

Batter goes into the casserole, then sprinkle the chopped rhubarb evenly over it.

Finally, heat 1 c water until very, very hot (or boiling) and dissolve 1/2 c sugar into it. Pour this over the rhubarb and batter. (No, really. Trust me. This will work.)

Bake at 400 degrees F for approx. 35 minutes, until bubbly all over and the top and edges have begun to brown slightly. Serve warm or cold. A scoop of vanilla ice cream makes this a transcendent experience!

Here’s how mine looks after it has cooled slightly. It’s still too hot to eat here, or else you’d see parts missing.

Rhubarb Cobbler...Life Just Got a Whole Lot Better

Do you have a rhubarb recipe? story? complaint? Let’s hear it!  If it doesn’t fit into the comments, you can e-mail me at: coldhandswarmart [at] yahoo [dot] com and I’ll try to work it into another post.

• t •

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , .

Exit Stage Left Socks Do Not Knit Themselves

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom  |  June 12, 2010 at 5:54 pm

    Yum,yum!! I can almost smell it!! Thanks to Aunt Joan for the recipe for a true spring/summer delight. I picked gooseberries today, so there will be a pie before bedtime ;-)

    Reply
  • 2. Tes  |  June 12, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    I love the rhubarb cobbler recipe. It’s not easy to find them here, but Iam welling to go for a hunt today. I have to try the recipe. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
    • 3. homespunlife  |  June 13, 2010 at 11:31 am

      Thanks, Tes! I also love Thai food. Can’t wait to explore your blog and look at your recipies.

  • 4. Amy  |  June 13, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    I love…love…love rhubarb! As you say, it doesn’t do as well here in Missouri as in colder areas, but we always had some growing when I was a kid. My mom used to make a rhubarb crisp-type thing that I loved, but she never wrote down the recipe and I never asked for it. Unfortunately, now it’s too late. Your recipe sounds great and I am going to try it one of these days. Do you think it would work with frozen rhubarb? I have some that my sis-in-law gave me and it’s about the right amount. Seems to me that if you sprinkled it over the batter while it’s still frozen, it just might be OK. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

    Reply
    • 5. homespunlife  |  June 13, 2010 at 3:11 pm

      Yay, Amy! Another rhubarb addict!

      I think your frozen ‘barb would indeed work. I’d probably thaw it in the microwave just a bit–not so it’s mushy, but maybe until just a few ice crystals remain, then watch your bake time. Let me know how it turns out.

      You’ve given me a great idea. Next rhubarb cutting, I’m going to use my apple crisp recipe with the rhubarb. Oh yum. I can’t wait!!!

  • 6. Rhubarb aka Pie Plant | The Homespun Life  |  May 22, 2013 at 7:48 pm

    […] If you’d like to check out my favorite rhubarb cobbler recipe, it’s in one of my old blog posts: https://homespunlife.wordpress.com/2010/06/12/rhubarb-how-i-love-thee/ […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tess Tweets

Categories

Shameless Self-promotion

Fun things for fiber lovers at www.coldhandswarmart2.etsy.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 244 other followers

Bookmark and Share
The Hunger Site

