DIY Lazy Kates

May 23, 2010 at 8:07 am 2 comments

At the risk of vexing the fiber gods with my hubris, I have to say it’s been a pretty spin-tastic week. :-)

Early in the week I went on a quest for an affordable lazy kate. Kates are pretty simple devices that hold multiple bobbins of spun yarn to allow for plying two or more strands together. A laundry basket with horizontal dowel rods can function as a kate. A quick (and I do mean quick) Google search provides no etymology for “lazy kate,” but does provide a number of very tempting links that have almost derailed this post as I venture down rabbit holes. (Google is my frenemy.)

But I digress…

Thanks to Ravelry and my frenemy, Google, I found some great links to DIY kates, as well as some lovely blogs. So, here are instructions for:

A 6-bobbin kate from the blog Unravelling.

A 4-bobbin kate from the blog Sharp Pointy Objects

Another 4-bobbin kate from Sewwhatsports (links to Ravelry)

With all this new-found knowledge, I was ready to hit the hardware stores with my list of to-buys, find a helpful hardware man (or woman) to hunt it all down, and get busy. DH was plenty willing to set aside another monstrous pile of grading and tackle it with me.

And then, it hit me…my Ashford Traveller has three spindles that are supposed to function as a lazy kate. Doh! Here’s a pic from the Ashford site.

So, I have done my first plying this week. According to DH, it actually looks like “real” yarn.  (Um…thanks?)   Pictures to come. I’ll let you judge for yourselves.  (But I still want to make that awesome 6-bobbin kate!)

Entry filed under: Spinning. Tags: , .

Cat People Already Knew About This Ply me to the moon…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom  |  May 23, 2010 at 5:52 pm

    Some of these look more like works of art than utilitarian tools. Glad the snake didn’t bite you before you saw” the potential on your wheel!!

    Reply
  • 2. DIY Lazy Kate and Lazy Spinner | The Homespun Life  |  July 7, 2013 at 4:09 pm

    […] I still hadn’t found a real lazy kate within my budget. And despite finding several really good plans for building a kate, nothing had materialized. Apparently it takes more than just finding the plans to make it happen. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tess Tweets

Categories

Shameless Self-promotion

Fun things for fiber lovers at www.coldhandswarmart2.etsy.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 244 other followers

Bookmark and Share
The Hunger Site

