Time Out for a Chocolate Syrup Recipe

May 5, 2010 at 4:42 pm 1 comment

[Stickler Warning: The words “syrup” and “sauce” will be used interchangeably in this post. If you’re not up to the inconsistency, you might want to skip this one, or plan to lie down afterward.]

Chocolate. It’s about the only thing that will voluntarily lure me away from my wool.

Last week I was enduring the torture known as “grocery shopping” and spotted the chocolate ice cream toppings on the shelf. One second later I was holding a squeeze bottle in my hand. (I still don’t quite know how it got there.) Then I made the mistake of reading the ingredients. Somewhere between the guar gum and polysorbitatolinal (OK, I just made that up) I think there might have been some chocolate.  I sighed. I put the syrup back.

I just can’t justify buying that junk when my homemade syrup is cheap, easy, almost fat-free, and darn good. You gotta try this.

Making chocolate sauce

Making chocolate sauce

Where’s-the-fat Chocolate Sauce

In a small saucepan or 4-cup microwave-safe container (not plastic), stir together:

3/4 c. sugar
1/3 c. cocoa powder
2/3 c. evaporated skim milk (NOT sweetened condensed milk)

Cook and stir over medium heat until sauce is thick and bubbly. Cook and stir for 2 minutes more. (If microwaving, watch it constantly and stir frequently. It’s prone to boiling over.) Remove from heat and add:

1 t vanilla

Let cool and store in refrigerator. Try not to eat it with a spoon as if it were a chilled chocolate soup.

That’s it! Note the lack of guar gum. This recipe is pretty flexible, too. Sometimes I skip the vanilla. Often I make it with regular milk (1%, 2%, whatever I’ve got). It turns out a lot less thick when made with the regular milk, but just as tasty.

• t •

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , .

Dandelion Dye Day I Haven’t Forgotten

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Mom  |  May 5, 2010 at 7:26 pm

    So where was this recipe last week when I needed it and could have just put it in a glass with a straw??!! Sounds really delish. Where did you learn to be such a good cook? ;-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tess Tweets

Categories

Shameless Self-promotion

Fun things for fiber lovers at www.coldhandswarmart2.etsy.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 244 other followers

Bookmark and Share
The Hunger Site

