Wash Fleece While the Sun Shines

April 15, 2010 at 1:57 pm 5 comments

It’s 80 degrees (F) and sunny today. Wow. Some years it’s still snowing in April.

This means I need to close the laptop and get to work washing fleece. I’ve got seven (count ’em, seven) half-fleeces from a very dirty Shetland flock. So far only no-name and Angel are washed. That’s no-name pictured in the previous post. I’ve still got Frea, Coco, Badger, Bamboo and Clair to go.

Raw Shetland Wool

Yes, sir, yes sir, seven bags full.

These were birthday presents from my sister, who spins and has been making preparations to start her own sheep farm. $5 per fleece on Craigs List. Yes, really. Together we skirted them (removed the very nasty bits from around the edges and the under-tail area) and split them. She kept half of each fleece and sent half with me.

OK. Enough chat. Put the kettles on to boil and get the lye soap ready. It’s time to get messy.

• t •

Entry filed under: Sheep to Yarn Process. Tags: , , .

Fleece Teabag SEO Queen for a Day

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Angela - Dolce Beada  |  April 19, 2010 at 9:56 am

    Tess – congrats on your new blog! I just read your SEO interview and it is inspiring. I think you will have plenty of things to blog about here!

    And my daughter and I are fans of the Hunger Games. I will have to check out your etsy site.

    Best of luck,

    Angela

    Reply
    • 2. homespunlife  |  April 19, 2010 at 2:17 pm

      Thanks, Angela! Conrad Walton was so nice to feature me in that article. I’m trying not to let it go to my head. :-)

  • 3. Wool Prep Step 2: Getting the VM Out « The Homespun Life  |  April 26, 2010 at 10:59 am

    […] my 7 Shetland fleeces were NOT covered. So I pick. And pick. And pick. Having already washed out most of the sticky-icky, some of the VM simply falls out. The rest is removed by teasing the fibers apart with a comb or […]

    Reply
  • 4. Becky  |  May 4, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    Fiber heaven :)

    Reply
    • 5. homespunlife  |  May 4, 2010 at 1:11 pm

      Heaven should definitely smell like greasy fleece. (And maybe chocolate!)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tess Tweets

Categories

Shameless Self-promotion

Fun things for fiber lovers at www.coldhandswarmart2.etsy.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 244 other followers

Bookmark and Share
The Hunger Site

